The ePASS : Electronic Payment and Application System of Scholarship

The ePASS: Education for All 
The ePASS [electronic payment and application system of scholarship] helps in extending the financial assistance to under-privileged segment in the Indian population structure. They are Scheduled Caste, Scheduled tribe, Other Backward Classes, Physically Challenged and Economically disadvantaged students who are sponsored to continue post matriculation courses in both technical and professional courses.

ePASS: Eligibility and non-eligibility
The e-pass specifies the segment of the population who are eligible to apply for this scholarship. The students belonging to various reserved sections of our country can apply provided their family income is below one lakh rupees annually. The attendance cut-off has been kept 75% at the end of every quarter.

The e-pass provider also extends the category of students who cannot be considered eligible. The various points provided in support of this are;

  1. The students belonging to categories other than the reserved ones
  2. The students of those household where the annual income exceeds one lakh of rupees
  3. Students pursuing part-time and online courses
  4. Students who are studying in sponsored seats
  5. Those students drawing stipends whose value exceeds the scholarship amount

Courses supported by ePASS
The government clearly mentions the subjects that are included as part of ePASS consideration. The subjects are grouped into Group – I, II, III and IV. The subjects enlisted in Group – I, are mostly the professional courses [University courses in Medicine, Engineering, Technology, Management, Agriculture, Veterinary and Allied Sciences, Business Finance, Business Administration and Computer Applications, Commercial Pilot License Course]. The Group – II courses consists of other professional and technical courses [CA, ICWA, and CS] and PG courses like M.Phil, Ph.D and post-doctoral research. The Group – III specifies degree courses that are not mentioned in the first two groups, courses offered by National Institute of Fashion Technology (NIFT). Group –IV enlists the intermediate level, the ITI/ITC training, Vocational Courses of Intermediate level. Under this group scheme, the following will not be considered as eligible; Aircraft maintenance engineer’s course, Private Pilot License course, Courses at pre-examination training centres at all India and state level.

The ePASS timeline

The ePASS will follow a stipulated timeline.

The student should submit an online application within the first month from the date of admission

  1. The college principal is required to issue bonafide certificate for submitting application form [in hard copy] by the student
  2. Physical Verification needs to be conducted by ASWO/Field Officer twice a year; first one to be done within a month of reopening of college and the next one to be completed within one month from the last date of closing of Admissions.
  3. Online recommendations are required within one week after verification. Accounts officer is responsible for bill submission from 16th to 18th of a month.
  4. Passing of Bills and sending checks to nodal banks will be done directly within 25th.
  5. The account will be credited on 1st.

Submission of necessary documents for e-pass application

  1. SSC and Intermediate Hall Ticket Number
  2. CET [Common Entrance Test] number
  3. Caste Certificate
  4. Income Certificate

For scanning and uploading in website the following documents are required such as; Caste and Income Certificate, Latest Photograph, Savings Bank passbook, admission allotment letter.

All the mandates are required to be followed properly.